The Best Things I Am Eating Now

Whether it is for pleasure or business, one of my greatest passions is travel.  I love going to places where I can discover new restaurants, cafes, food stores, dessert shops, and lounges that can be as inspiring from a food and drink perspective as they are from an artistic and architectural standpoint.

In such places, I always come up with new ideas for my own twists on desserts, foods, and drinks.  I also find sweet things to carry in my stores.

One of my stops on a recent trip up to L.A. was to meet with Joan of Joan’s on Third.  Joan’s is a gourmet café and food store that has wonderful food, baked goods, coffees, teas, and private label sweets among many other items. 

Of the many decadent items there that I tried, the Chocolate Coconut Covered Marshmallows reached “Best Thing I’m Eating Now” status.

I’m not even sure if any description is necessary.  I can just say that these are incredible and to warn that you will not be able to only eat one!

When winding down after the long day of shopping and traffic, I came across a wonderful Malbec called BenMarco from Mendoza in Argentina.  It struck me with its beautiful color and full-bodied and ripe red fruited taste.  This incredible wine will be in our Union Street location soon, and it will be available by the ½ glass, full glass and bottle.  It is a show stopper, so try this next time you are in or pick up a bottle if you see it somewhere.

One of the featured cakes on our holiday menu is the Yule Log. This year, I created a new twist by adding raspberry tea infused cherries throughout the recipe to give it more of a holiday taste.  It is a gorgeous cake that will help sweeten your holiday table décor and then serve as the perfect holiday dessert.  It is being featured in a San Diego Union Tribune article on December 9, and you will be able to place your order for full cakes now.  We have it available by the slice on select days, so try it before you order. 

Happy holidays to you and your loved ones.

With appreciation,

Karen

About Extraordinary Desserts

Over 20 years ago, Karen Krasne opened the first Extraordinary Desserts at 2929 5th Avenue near San Diego’s Balboa Park. Since then, Extraordinary Desserts has become one of San Diego’s most prominent dining establishments and has expanded to include a second location in San Diego’s Little Italy area at 1430 Union Street as well as a line of gourmet products and a robust online store. From the dazzling artistry and sublime taste of its award-winning sweets to the attentive customer service, Extraordinary Desserts has built a strong reputation for its decadent, gourmet dessert creations, elegant eats, and extraordinary experience. As a result, Extraordinary Desserts is consistently a top pick by critics and readers of both local and national publications. Owner and executive chef Karen Krasne studied at Paris’ best pastry schools. She uses only organic ingredients when possible, and adorns each luxurious dessert with locally-grown fresh flowers, her signature edible gold leaf, autumn leaves, and sinfully sweet sauces making her creations a feast for the eyes as well as the palate. Extraordinary Desserts, Little Italy 1430 Union Street San Diego, CA 92101 Phone: (619) 294-7001 Extraordinary Desserts, Balboa Park 2929 Fifth Avenue San Diego, CA 92103 Phone: (619) 294-2132
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best Things I Am Eating Now

  1. Eileen Ferber says:

    Karen,

    I read the article in the S.D. Union Tribune on Oct 12th about your new book which included the Ivoire Royale recipe. It mentioned that the complete recipe would be available @ uniontrib.com/cakes. I’ve had no luck finding the recipe at that site and would very much like to try it. Could you send me the completed version of the recipe.?
    My husband and I often go to your restaurant and love the choices. I’d now like to try one myself.

    Thanks so much,
    Eileen Ferber

Leave a Reply

